Sales Trainee – Is this the job that I want?

A couple of days ago, I applied for a Sales & Marketing job based here in Glasgow. I was not pretty sure whether I wanted this job or not. But, I applied for it. You know, just to see whether my CV is in the interview-winning format or just a piece of junk. Anyways, I got a call from that company on Monday 26th October. They said they wanted to have an informal chat to find out about me and give me an opportunity to find out them. So, the interview was setup on Tuesday 27th October at 1:20 PM. Since the job was all about Sales & Marketing, you need to be formal, smart and presentable; I was very formal in my attire. And, what really freaked me out is that the other interviewees were in semi-formal or casual attire! I was like George Carlin amongst the College of Cardinals!!!

So, what happened to that interview? As usual, I got DUMPED!!!  The funny part is that when the HR person called me to say that my application will not be taken forward and blah blah blah; I replied “OK thanks, I’m speaking to my aunt right now. No problems, Thanks!” and hung up. After a couple of minutes, I realized that I didn’t ask them why my application was not taken forward. But, I just shrugged and said myself “Whatever!!!”

And, how really did I perform in the interview? I think I did a reasonably good job. I talked about my background, qualifications, skills and transferable experiences that I have; which could fit me into the job. Basically, I tried to reproduce the “Job Description” with what I have to offer for the company.

I pretty much had all the trite questions of an interview. There were 2 questions which really made me excited and I kinda talked a lot about those. One was about “Living in Scotland” and the other was about my recent interest in “Blogging”. I coupled the answers and talked about my Scottish Highlands Tour post in the blog and what all I learned, stuttering and our twitter group and blah blah blah. I guess, the interviewer was quite impressed. But still; bottom line: – Nothing Happened! I was rejected!

On October, 25 2009 I received a caring and warm advice from my friend, Pam (@stutterrockstar) and my Dad  also says the same thing viz., to stay positive and focus on what I want and all those usual tit-bits and pep-talk. Basically, I am an optimistic guy and I am really overwhelmed and grateful for all those love and affection that I receive from the people whom I know. But, nothing is working!!!

I tried to make this post to be sarcastic and funny. But, my emotions are still raw and vetoed. Yet, I am optimistic without a cinch of doubt! ;) So! What am I gonna do now? Business as usual! Keep applying for the jobs & keep hoping for a break!!! Cheers!!!

:)

5 responses to “Sales Trainee – Is this the job that I want?

  1. Actually, this was a pretty funny post. I could picture how you felt when you arrived over-dressed, and probably felt from that second that you were not going to get the job.
    Keeping positive and present is important, especially when we are going through trying times. I have been myself, and what keeps me going is affirmation from good people – family and friends.
    We need that to keep going, and we need a variety of life experiences. You are getting these through your interviews. What may seem hopeless now is what is actually setting the satge for future success.
    Keep at it – don’t quit before the miracle happens. :)

  2. The fact that you “tried” to b sarcastic proves you had hard feelings when you wrote this ! Hope they are gone now … And for the factual comment, happens ! just move on with head held high !! :) Gooodie Good luck :)

  3. Machi, dont get dis-heartened by the rejects. I know it is easier said than done, but take these as valuable lessons that you learn along an eventful career lying ahead of yout.

    I think you could easily learn two vital things from this experience. 1) Always ask for the dress code before going to an interview 2) Ask for the feedback once a reject is given, especially when you know you had done well in the interview.

    I know that after attending more than a dozen interview you may slowly start getting that feeling creeping in as to if ever you will get a job. But the best thing about good things in life is that they come at a time when you least expect it, but you should be ready at that time to grab it with both hands.

    When Thomas Edison was interviewed by a young reporter who boldly asked Mr. Edison if he felt like a failure and if he thought he should just give up by now. Perplexed, Edison replied, “Young man, why would I feel like a failure? And why would I ever give up? I now know definitively over 9,000 ways that an electric light bulb will not work. Success is almost in my grasp.” And shortly after that, and over 10,000 attempts, Edison invented the light bulb.

    Perseverance is the mantra of life, so keep going. But remember to always learn something new from the failure that you had, else you will commit the same mistake again and will never improve your chances of impressing an interviewer.

    • மாப்ஸ், ஆங்கிலத்துலே போலந்து கட்டி இருக்கே!!! :P

      Thanks for your comments da. Very thoughtful and I hope if I upload this in TurnitinUK, the plagiarism percentage would be quite low. :P

      You wrote: Always ask for the dress code before going to an interview
      When you are called for interview, It is automatically assumed that you gotta be in a business attire. And, I went in that sorta attire. But, what I didn’t expect was, the other interviewees were in their casual or semi-formal attires. Although, I was in an appropriate attire in a pertinent situation, I kinda felt awkward because of the other fellas. :D

      You wrote: Ask for the feedback once a reject is given
      Yes. This is the best way to learn from the experience. And, I am happy to say that “I always do that.” :)

      Finally, on the last 3 paragraphs.
      When we are in pain, our gullible minds just want to hear things what we really expect out of our struggle and despair. On a lighter note, ain’t those 3 paragraphs sound “euphoric”. :D

Leave a Reply

